Is Soy Sauce Gluten Free?

Written by:

Obi Obadike

Obi Obadike

Celebrity Fitness & Nutrition Expert, CFT, SFN, M.S. Founder & CEO – Ethical Inc.
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Is soy sauce gluten free? Most soy sauce is made with wheat and soy. The sauce is made by combining soy and making it ferment for 2 days. Most soy sauces contain gluten while most tamari soy sauces are gluten free. The best way to determine if any soy sauce is gluten free is to look at the back of the packaging.

Is soy sauce gluten free? Photo credit: iStock-xamtiw

The FDA mandates that a food labeled gluten free contains fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten. The theory is a microscopic amount shouldn’t affect the most severely gluten intolerant people. If you check the back of the ingredients of the soy sauce bottle and it says it has wheat, rye, barley or any ingredients made from gluten then it is not gluten free.

A variety of different gluten free soy sauces are:

  • Oshawa Tamari soy sauce
  • La Bonne gluten free soy sauce
  • Kikkoman Tamari soy sauce
  • Kikkoman Gluten free soy sauce

Some gluten free soy sauce alternatives:

Another gluten free soy sauce alternative is coconut aminos. And the name aminos comes from the number of amino acids it contains which are the building blocks for protein.

Coconut aminos is another gluten free soy sauce alternative and it has fermented coconut sap and it is sodium free.

Worchestershire sauce is gluten free because it is made from distilled vinegar, anchovies, spices, salt, and molasses.

Fish sauce is made from fermented seafood, and it is saltier than soy sauce.

Liquid aminos are made from soybean liquid concentrate and it is sweeter and milder than soy sauce.

“Most soy sauces contain gluten while most tamari soy sauces are gluten free.” Celebrity Fitness & Nutrition Expert Obi Obadike

The Bottom Line is that most soy sauces contain gluten and are made from wheat. But alternatively tamari soy sauces are gluten free as well as most sauces that are made with rice.

If you have any interest in trying any of our Ethical Supplement  products to help you heighten your immune system or assist you with your fitness, weight loss or health goals. You can go to


  1. Stańska K, Krzeski A. The umami taste: from discovery to clinical use. Otolaryngol Pol. 2016 Jun 30;70(4):10-5. doi: 10.5604/00306657.1199991. PMID: 27387211.
  2. FDA-
  3. Devanthi PVP, Gkatzionis K. Soy sauce fermentation: Microorganisms, aroma formation, and process modification. Food Res Int. 2019 Jun;120:364-374. doi: 10.1016/j.foodres.2019.03.010. Epub 2019 Mar 8. PMID: 31000250.
  4. Zhao G, Ding LL, Yao Y, Cao Y, Pan ZH, Kong DH. Extracellular Proteome Analysis and Flavor Formation During Soy Sauce Fermentation. Front Microbiol. 2018 Aug 15;9:1872. doi: 10.3389/fmicb.2018.01872. PMID: 30158911; PMCID: PMC6104182.
  5. IFT-

More great content you may like

Health & Wellness
Obi Obadike

What Are The Benefits Of Coffee?

What are the benefits of coffee? One of the main benefits of coffee is it will increase your energy levels and decrease fatigue temporarily. And

Read More »

More great content you may like

Before you finish your last lap...

Don’t miss any of our great newsletters.