FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $99.99

Is Oat Milk Gluten Free?

Written by:

Obi Obadike

Obi Obadike

Celebrity Fitness & Nutrition Expert, CFT, SFN, M.S. Founder & CEO – Ethical Inc.
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Is oat milk gluten free? Oats are naturally gluten free and oat milk is one of the most popular plant based milks out there. Plant milks are made from nuts, seeds, coconut, rice and soy are gluten free.

Oats are gluten free, but it is important to know that they are often grown near wheat and processed in facilities that handle wheat products. Because of that there is a possible risk of cross contamination with gluten.

There was a Canadian study in 133 oat samples that discovered that 88% were contaminated with more than 20 parts per million of gluten. And this is the general cutoff for a food to be considered gluten free.

Is oat milk gluten free? Photo credit: iStock-fermate

If there isn’t a 3rd party certification that says the oat milk is gluten free, then there is no guarantee it is. Some manufacturers use third party testing labs to make sure their products are under the threshold of being gluten free.

There are some research studies that show that people who have celiac disease can eat two 3.5 ounces of pure oats per day without any adverse effects.

Here are the nutrient contents of 1 cup of Oat Milk:

  • Calories- 120
  • Protein- 3 grams
  • Fat- 5 grams
  • Carbs- 16 grams
  • Fiber- 2 grams

Oat milk is created by soaking whole oats in water, milling the softened mixture and straining the liquids from the solids. Oats have a good source of beta glucan and soluble fiber. Research studies have shown that the fiber in oats can boost heart health and lower LDL bad cholesterol levels.

Some of the health benefits of oats are:

  • Improve heart health- oats can improve the risk factors for heart disease by lowering LDL bad cholesterol levels and raising good cholesterol levels.
  • It can help improve weight loss by controlling your appetite and making you more full.
  • It can help control diabetes by improving your blood sugar and insulin levels for people who have Type 2 diabetes.

It is important to know that the FDA doesn’t analyze foods for gluten content. It is up to the manufacturers to test it for themselves.

“Oats are gluten free, but it is important to know that they are often grown near wheat and processed in facilities that handle wheat products. Because of that there is a possible risk of cross contamination with gluten.” Celebrity Fitness & Nutrition Expert Obi Obadike

The Bottom Line is oat milk is gluten free but there are times where oats can be cross contaminated with nearby wheat facilities. So the best way to insure that oats or oat milk is gluten free is to make sure it has a 3rd party certification on the package.

If you have any interest in trying any of our Ethical Supplement  products to help you heighten your immune system or assist you with your fitness, weight loss or health goals. You can go to https://ethicalinc.com/suppressant-offer/

References

  1. Sethi S, Tyagi SK, Anurag RK. Plant-based milk alternatives an emerging segment of functional beverages: a review. J Food Sci Technol. 2016 Sep;53(9):3408-3423. doi: 10.1007/s13197-016-2328-3. Epub 2016 Sep 2. PMID: 27777447; PMCID: PMC5069255.
  2. USDA- https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/fdc-app.html#/food-details/719016/nutrients
  3. Lee HJ, Anderson Z, Ryu D. Gluten contamination in foods labeled as “gluten free” in the United States. J Food Prot. 2014 Oct;77(10):1830-3. doi: 10.4315/0362-028X.JFP-14-149. PMID: 25285507.
  4. Koerner TB, Cléroux C, Poirier C, Cantin I, Alimkulov A, Elamparo H. Gluten contamination in the Canadian commercial oat supply. Food Addit Contam Part A Chem Anal Control Expo Risk Assess. 2011 Jun;28(6):705-10. doi: 10.1080/19440049.2011.579626. PMID: 21623493; PMCID: PMC3118497.
  5. Leonard MM, Sapone A, Catassi C, Fasano A. Celiac Disease and Nonceliac Gluten Sensitivity: A Review. JAMA. 2017 Aug 15;318(7):647-656. doi: 10.1001/jama.2017.9730. PMID: 28810029.
  6. Pietzak M. Celiac disease, wheat allergy, and gluten sensitivity: when gluten free is not a fad. JPEN J Parenter Enteral Nutr. 2012 Jan;36(1 Suppl):68S-75S. doi: 10.1177/0148607111426276. PMID: 22237879.
  7. See JA, Kaukinen K, Makharia GK, Gibson PR, Murray JA. Practical insights into gluten-free diets. Nat Rev Gastroenterol Hepatol. 2015 Oct;12(10):580-91. doi: 10.1038/nrgastro.2015.156. Epub 2015 Sep 22. PMID: 26392070.
  8. Kaukinen K, Collin P, Huhtala H, Mäki M. Long-term consumption of oats in adult celiac disease patients. Nutrients. 2013 Nov 6;5(11):4380-9. doi: 10.3390/nu5114380. PMID: 24201240; PMCID: PMC3847736.
  9. Pulido OM, Gillespie Z, Zarkadas M, Dubois S, Vavasour E, Rashid M, Switzer C, Godefroy SB. Introduction of oats in the diet of individuals with celiac disease: a systematic review. Adv Food Nutr Res. 2009;57:235-85. doi: 10.1016/S1043-4526(09)57006-4. PMID: 19595389.
  10. Hardy MY, Tye-Din JA, Stewart JA, Schmitz F, Dudek NL, Hanchapola I, Purcell AW, Anderson RP. Ingestion of oats and barley in patients with celiac disease mobilizes cross-reactive T cells activated by avenin peptides and immuno-dominant hordein peptides. J Autoimmun. 2015 Jan;56:56-65. doi: 10.1016/j.jaut.2014.10.003. Epub 2014 Nov 1. PMID: 25457306.

More great content you may like

More great content you may like

Before you finish your last lap...

Don’t miss any of our great newsletters.