Is Chocolate Gluten Free?

Written by:

Obi Obadike

Obi Obadike

Celebrity Fitness & Nutrition Expert, CFT, SFN, M.S. Founder & CEO – Ethical Inc.
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Is chocolate gluten free? Pure sweetened or unsweetened chocolate is naturally gluten free. There are several types of chocolate on the market right now that have ingredients like cacao beans, cocoa butter, sugar which are all considered gluten free.

But there are also some chocolate brands on the market that have potential additional ingredients that has gluten. Some of the additional ingredients such as emulsifiers and flavoring agents that are used to improve the taste and texture of chocolate will contain gluten.

Is chocolate gluten free? Photo credit: iStock-WS Studio

Some of the other chocolate brands that contain anywhere from 10 to 15 ingredients, which have powdered milk or vanilla would be considered to have gluten in it.

Some of the most common ingredients that contains gluten are:

  • Barley
  • Brewer’s yeast
  • Malt
  • Malt syrup
  • Rye floor
  • Wheat flour
  • Graham flour
  • Matzo

There is a chance that a chocolate product that you purchase that doesn’t contain any gluten ingredients can still be contaminated with gluten. And this can be due to chocolate being cross contaminated in a facility that produces gluten containing foods.

Products that meet strict manufacturing rules and standards for gluten free food production normally obtain a gluten free certification label. Be mindful when you buy chocolate or any type of food if you are looking for it to be gluten free.

You want to check to see if it has that gluten free label certification seal. The only reason you will avoid food that has gluten in it is if you have celiac disease.

The Bottom Line is pure sweetened or unsweetened chocolate and is gluten free. But there are some chocolate brands that contain 10 to 15 ingredients that have powdered milk or vanilla. The only way to really determine if chocolate or any type of food you purchase is gluten free is if there is a gluten free label certification.

If you have any interest in trying any of our Ethical Supplement  products to help you heighten your immune system or assist you with your fitness, weight loss or health goals. You can get a discount below at this link. ?utm_source=blog 


  1. Taylor SL, Baumert JL. Cross-contamination of foods and implications for food allergic patients. Curr Allergy Asthma Rep. 2010 Jul;10(4):265-70. doi: 10.1007/s11882-010-0112-4. PMID: 20425003.
  2. Verma AK, Gatti S, Galeazzi T, Monachesi C, Padella L, Baldo GD, Annibali R, Lionetti E, Catassi C. Gluten Contamination in Naturally or Labeled Gluten-Free Products Marketed in Italy. Nutrients. 2017 Feb 7;9(2):115. doi: 10.3390/nu9020115. PMID: 28178205; PMCID: PMC5331546.
  3. Mansueto P, Seidita A, D’Alcamo A, Carroccio A. Non-celiac gluten sensitivity: literature review. J Am Coll Nutr. 2014;33(1):39-54. doi: 10.1080/07315724.2014.869996. PMID: 24533607.
  4. Gujral N, Freeman HJ, Thomson AB. Celiac disease: prevalence, diagnosis, pathogenesis and treatment. World J Gastroenterol. 2012 Nov 14;18(42):6036-59. doi: 10.3748/wjg.v18.i42.6036. PMID: 23155333; PMCID: PMC3496881.
  5. Biesiekierski JR. What is gluten? J Gastroenterol Hepatol. 2017 Mar;32 Suppl 1:78-81. doi: 10.1111/jgh.13703. PMID: 28244676.

More great content you may like

More great content you may like

Before you finish your last lap...

Don’t miss any of our great newsletters.