Is wine gluten free? Wine is made from grapes, berries, plums, etc. And it is considered naturally gluten free. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, and barley.
Here is how wine is processed:
It is crushed and pressed, and it extracts the juice from the grapes, When making wine the juice is separated from the grape skins to avoid color and flavor transfer.
Photo credit: iStock-Giovanni Magdalinos
Fermentation process– The fermentation process allows it to make bubbly.
Clarification process– This makes wine more clear than cloudy, and it does this by a method called fining. And this involves using another substance to bind and remove unwanted elements.
Aging and Storage– Wine is stored in containers and barrels before bottling it. Some preservatives may be included along with sulfur dioxide but are typically gluten free.
What is fining? It removes unwanted elements such as protein, plant compounds, yeast, This helps to ensure wine and make it clear vs cloudy and make it smell and taste good.
Some wine cooler drinks contain gluten particularly when it comes to malt drinks. Malt is made from barley which is gluten containing grain. There was a study where the Gluten Free Watchdog Agency measured gluten concentrations in two different wines.
And it had been aged in wheat pasta sealed barrels and it contained less than 10 ppm of gluten. And that is less than the FDA limit for gluten free products.
The Bottom Line is wine is naturally gluten free but during the fining and aging process tiny amounts of gluten can be found in the wine.
If you have any interest in trying any of our Ethical Supplement products to help you heighten your immune system or assist you with your fitness, weight loss or health goals. You can get a discount below at this link.
- Cook PJ, Durrance CP. The virtuous tax: lifesaving and crime-prevention effects of the 1991 federal alcohol-tax increase. J Health Econ. 2013 Jan;32(1):261-7. doi: 10.1016/j.jhealeco.2012.11.003. Epub 2012 Nov 9. PMID: 23220460.
- Gluten Free Watchdog- https://www.glutenfreewatchdog.org/news/gluten-content-of-wine-aged-in-oak-barrels-sealed-with-wheat-paste/
- National Research Council (US) Panel on the Applications of Biotechnology to Traditional Fermented Foods. Applications of Biotechnology to Fermented Foods: Report of an Ad Hoc Panel of the Board on Science and Technology for International Development. Washington (DC): National Academies Press (US); 1992. 25, Biotechnology for Production of Fruits, Wines, and Alcohol. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK234683/